Thursday, October 5, 2017 - 11:30 AM

Hard running midfielder Lachlan Mitchell has claimed his first David Cameron Memorial Medal, pipping defenders Jordan Boullineau and Jakeb Shine in a thrilling count on Wednesday night.

Mitchell from the Baldivis Football Club, averaged 22 disposals and four marks per game in 2017 and kicked 8 goals across 16 matches. 

He also was amongst the leaders in tackles (6 per game), clearances (5 per game), handball receives (7 per game) and disposal efficiency (70%).

Finishing with 99 votes, Mitchell held off a surging Boullineau, who polled strongly in the back half of the season, whilst Shine was a constant in the top 3 all evening and held the lead at round 20.

Boullineau (also from Baldivis), who played across half back also had a stellar season, representing Western Australia in the national carnival, and being selected in the Redimed Colts Team of the Year. Boullineau averaged 18 possessions and 5.5 marks per game. 

HBL product Shine, who was captain of the colts squad, had a strong season across half back, with some excellent defensive roles. Shine led the side in handball receives and provided plenty of run off half back

Following each match, coach Craig Otto and two assistants each give votes from one to five for the players they deemed to be the best 5 on the ground. Players can receive a maximum of 15 votes for any game.

Other award winners included Rockingham junior Tyson Powell, who received the Colts Leadership Award after the utility averaged 10 disposals and 3.5 marks, as well as kicking 20 goals from his 20 games.

First-year wingman James Sturrock picked up the WA Combined Past Players and Officials Encouragement Award after the Baldivis product averaged 15 disposals across 15 games.

Midfielder Kyle Havelberg was named the Players Player after averaging 20 disposals, 8 tackles and 7 clearances a game.

The players will be presented with their awards at the Tuckey Medal night on Friday 6th October.


1st- Lachlan Mitchell (99 votes)

2nd- Jordan Boullineau (85 votes)

3rd- Jakeb Shine (84 votes)

4th- Jackson Perry (83 votes)

5th- Michael Randall (73 votes)

6th- Kyle Havelberg (71 votes)

7th- Jake Howes, Durak Tucker (47 votes)

9th- Michael Stevens (39 votes)

10th- Bradley Oldfield (36 votes)